How do I become a Certified Civil Process Server with the Court?

Qualifications - You must: Be at least 18 years of age. Have no mental or legal disability. Be a permanent resident of the state of Florida. Have no felony convictions. Have no misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude or dishonesty within the last 5 years. Pass a background investigation including a review of your criminal record, should one exist. Pass the Certified Civil Process Servers examination. Fee for the exam is $300. Take the Oath of Office administered by a sitting judge. Purchase and renew a $5,000 performance bond each year. Click here to download application materials in pdf format. Applications will be available from August 1 through October 31.

Applications are available online or copies can be picked up at the Dade County Courthouse, Room 911, 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM.

 

What laws govern Certified Civil Process Servers? 

Chapter 48, Florida Statutes, in particular Sections 48.25 - 48.31, the "Florida Certified Process Servers Act." See also, Administrative Order 16-11; Florida Rules of Civil Procedure 1.070 and 1.080; and, Florida Small Claims Rule 7.070.

 

Process Servers Portal

Access here

 

Process Servers Portal User Manual 

Get User Manual here.

 

CPS Information Manual 

Get Manual here.

 

Certified Process Server Applications 

Find information here.

 

Response to Complaint Form 

Find information here.

 

Administrative Order 16-11: Certification and Regulation of Process Servers 

Get Administrative Order here.

 

Important Dates and Fees 

Get Information here.